EYFS Development

Understanding EYFS -the Early Years Foundation Stage

What is EYFS?

The purpose of the EYFS is to meet the needs of each individual child in my care and ensure children from birth to the age of five achieve the five ‘Every Child Matters’ objectives:

•    staying safe
•    being healthy
•    enjoying and achieving
•    making a positive contribution
•    achieving economic well-being

The EYFS principles are categorised by the following four themes.

A Unique Child

This recognises that every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Positive Relationships

This describes how children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person.

Enabling Environments

This explains that the environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning.

Learning and Development

This recognises that children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates, and that all areas of learning and development are equally important and inter-connected.

Within each of these four themes are seven areas that I focus on, three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.  These three areas, the prime areas are:-

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Children will acquire social skills, a willingness to develop and will learn how to respect themselves and others.

Communication and Language

Focuses on children building confidence. Develops an ability to effectively communicate and listen and start to read and write.

Physical Development

Providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive; and to develop their co-ordination, control and movement.  Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food.

In addition a provider must also support children in four specific areas:-

Understanding of the World

Gaining an understanding of the world, finding out about the natural environment, using tools and different materials to make things and exploring ICT (Information and Communication Technology).


Development involves encouraging children to link sounds and letters and to begin to read and write.  Children must have access to a wide range of reading materials.


Involves providing children with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; and to describe shapes, spaces and measures.

Expressive Arts and Design

Encouraging imagination and creativity in children. Enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role play and design and technology.


searched for Glossop Childminders